JK Rowling receives support from Ian McEwan and Griff Rhys Jones amid ‘transphobia’ row

Written by admin

JK Rowling receives help from Ian McEwan and Griff Rhys Jones amid ‘transphobia’ row

33676810 0 image m 8 1601199299388

JK Rowling has been subjected to an onslaught of abuse that highlights an insidious, authoritarian and misogynistic pattern in social media.

Rowling has persistently proven herself to be an honourable and compassionate particular person, and the appalling hashtag #RIPJKRowling is simply the newest instance of hate speech directed in opposition to her and different girls that Twitter and different platforms allow and implicitly endorse.

We’re signing this letter within the hope that, if extra folks arise in opposition to the concentrating on of girls on-line, we would at the least make it much less acceptable to have interaction in it or revenue from it.

We want JK Rowling nicely and stand in solidarity along with her.

Ian McEwan, creator; Lionel Shriver, creator; Griff Rhys Jones, actor; Graham Linehan, author; Maureen Chadwick, author; Andrew Davies, author; Frances Barber, actress; Craig Brown, author; Alexander Armstrong, actor; Amanda Craig, author; Philip Hensher, author; Susan Hill, author; Jane Thynne, author; Ben Miller, actor; Simon Fanshawe, author; James Dreyfus, actor; Frances Welch, author; Francis Wheen, author; Arthur Matthews, author; Aminatta Forna, author; Joan Smith, author; Nick Cohen, journalist; Kath Gotts, composer & lyricist; Ann McManus, author; Eileen Gallagher, author & producer; Jimmy Mulville, producer; Lizzie Roper, actress; Stella O’Malley, creator; Nina Paley, animator; Julie Bindel, journalist; Abigail Shrier, journalist; Rachel Rooney, creator; Jane Harris, author; Tatsuya Ishida, cartoonist; Lisa Marchiano, creator; Zuby, musician and creator; Debbie Hayton, journalist; Gillian Philip, Writer, Jonny Greatest, musician; Manick Govinda, arts marketing consultant; Russell Celyn Jones, author; Magi Gibson, author; Victoria Whitworth, author; Dr Mez Packer, author; Grace Carley, producer; Sam Leith, journalist; Malcolm Clark, tv producer-director; Shirley Wishart, musician; Charlotte Delaney, author; Nehanda Ferguson, musician; Justin Hill, author; Trezza Azzopardi, author; Birdy Rose, artist; Jess de Wahls, textile artist; Mo Lovatt, author; Simon Edge, novelist; Tom Stoppard, playwright; and Amanda Smyth, author  

#Rowling #receives #help #Ian #McEwan #Griff #Rhys #Jones #transphobia #row

About the author