Sports

Today in Tokyo: Track and Field Starts and U.S. Women Face Netherlands in Soccer

Today in Tokyo: Track and Field Starts and U.S. Women Face Netherlands in Soccer
Written by admin
Today in Tokyo: Track and Field Starts and U.S. Women Face Netherlands in Soccer

Today in Tokyo: Track and Field Starts and U.S. Women Face Netherlands in Soccer

TOKYO – It never really feels like you’re at the Olympics before track and field starts. The competition begins Friday morning in Tokyo with the preliminary heats of the women’s 100 meters, and continues all day until a single final, the men’s 10,000, in the evening.

After a loss, a win and a draw, the United States women’s football team faces a make or die quarter-final against an impressive Dutch team that outscored their opponents by 21-8 in the preliminary round. Expect goals in this one as well. It is 8:00 p.m. Tokyo time, 7:00 a.m. Eastern time.

The flagship events of any rowing regatta are the eight, and the men’s and women’s races will be contested on Friday morning (Thursday evening in the United States). On the women’s side, the US team will be aiming for a fourth straight Olympic gold medal, but they could be New Zealand’s underdog.

Four more swim finals will kick off at 10:41 a.m. in Tokyo, 9:41 p.m. EST on Thursday. Michael Andrew of the United States is a serious contender for gold in the 200-meter individual medley. Lilly King of the United States will swim for a gold in the women’s 200 breaststroke. She won an individual gold medal and a relay gold medal at the 2016 Games.

And it’s time to bounce back. The women’s trampoline competition begins.

#Today #Tokyo #Track #Field #Starts #Women #Face #Netherlands #Soccer

READ Also  Olympian Jack Woolly: Tokyo Olympian Jack Woolly recovers after surgery

About the author

admin