What Are the Four Types of Consumers in Ecology?

In ecology, there are four categories of consumers: herbivores, carnivores, omnivores, and decomposers. Herbivores eat just plants, while carnivores eat only other animals. Omnivores eat both plants and animals, while decomposers eat both plant and animal remnants.

Herbivores, such as elephants and giraffes, are key consumers in the ecosystem. Carnivores, like tigers and lions, are tertiary or secondary consumers. Omnivores are creatures that consume both plants and animals as food. People are an excellent example of omnivores.

Decomposers decompose animal and plant remnants. These consumers convert the waste into organic matter that is returned to the soil. The sorts of decomposers include bacteria, fungi, tiny arthropods, and earthworms.

Joel Gomez
Joel Gomezhttps://www.gadgetclock.com
Joel Gomez is an Avid Coder and technology enthusiast. To keep up with his passion he started Gadgetclock 3 years ago in 2018. Now It's his hobby at the night :) If you have any questions/queries and just wanna chit chat about technology, shoot a mail - Joel at gadgetclock com.

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox