What Are the Seven Circles of Hell?

From top to bottom, the nine circles of Hell in Dante’s epic poem “Inferno” are Limbo, Lust, Gluttony, Greed, Anger, Heresy, Violence, Fraud, and Treachery. Sinners are punished on these circular levels based on how bad their sins were. The easiest punishments are in Limbo, and the worst punishments are in Treachery, which is at the bottom.

In the poem, Dante’s dead love, Beatrice, sends the poet Virgil to show him around Hell. The tour is told by Virgil. It starts at the top level of Hell. Souls that haven’t been baptised and good Pagans are kept in Limbo, which is not a place of punishment but a gentle place that isn’t Heaven. Sins of self-indulgence, like lust, gluttony, greed, and anger, are punished on the next four levels. Levels 6 and 7 are used to punish sins that are violent, like heresy or blasphemy, which are violent acts against God. Last, levels 8 and 9 punish people who have done bad things on purpose, like fraud or treason.

The first poem in “The Divine Comedy,” an allegory about a sinner’s journey to God, is called “Inferno.” The punishments on each level of Hell are also allegories that are meant to match the sins of the people who get them. In a way, the person who sins chooses his or her own punishment. There are references to Dante’s work all over literature, like in “On a Dream” by John Keats, which talks about how the winds were used to punish the lustful.

Joel Gomez
Joel Gomezhttps://www.gadgetclock.com
Joel Gomez is an Avid Coder and technology enthusiast. To keep up with his passion he started Gadgetclock 3 years ago in 2018. Now It's his hobby at the night :) If you have any questions/queries and just wanna chit chat about technology, shoot a mail - Joel at gadgetclock com.

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox