What Is a Quaternary Consumer?

The animal at the top of the food chain is called a “quaternary consumer.” Most of the time, these animals eat or hunt animals that are lower on the food chain than they are.

Hawks and white sharks, both of which eat meat, are examples of quaternary consumers. Sharks can eat seals, while hawks can eat snakes. Third-tier consumers are seals and snakes.

In an ecosystem’s food chain, there are different feeding levels, or trophic levels, such as primary producers, primary consumers, secondary consumers, tertiary consumers, and quaternary consumers. Most primary consumers are herbivores, but secondary consumers can be either carnivores or animals that eat both plants and animals.

Joel Gomez
Joel Gomezhttps://www.gadgetclock.com
Joel Gomez is an Avid Coder and technology enthusiast. To keep up with his passion he started Gadgetclock 3 years ago in 2018. Now It's his hobby at the night :) If you have any questions/queries and just wanna chit chat about technology, shoot a mail - Joel at gadgetclock com.

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Stay on op - Ge the daily news in your inbox